Finally Friday Edited

I have worked at the school this week for sick ladies and wouldn’t you know now I have the sinus thing. Just what I needed. When I say I sub at the school, I work in the cafeteria. Yep, I’m the dreaded lunchroom lady. I have worked in the library but mostly the cafeteria.

I saw a quilt I really liked in the Dec.-Jan. edition of Quilt Mag. It is called Down the Rose Path by Toby Lischko. It is done in beautiul browns and pinks.oriental-quilt-001.jpgoriental-quilt-004.jpgoriental-quilt-002.jpgoriental-quilt-003.jpg

Wouldn’t you know I have no browns and pinks but I do have a stash. Like Randi, I am doing a little stash busting. I have some beautiful Oriental themed fabrics in reds and golds that I love. So now to figure out where to use my fabrics. O.K. got that figured out. Where the dark brown is I will use gold, where the pink is I will use red print.

I have tried to put these pix in order between the text but I have not got that figured out yet. The first is the quilt in the magazine, then my cut pieces. Finally there is only 2 different blocks but they are in different colors, then you alternate the layout.

Now I have to work on 2 gifts I like for 2 of my grandchildren. I will posts those later. Have a great day everyone.

I just realized I said 2 different blocks. Actually it is 1 block, 2 colorways. Just confused today.

9 Responses to Finally Friday Edited

  1. AllenQuilts says:

    Looking good, Freda! That will be a great quilt!

  2. Jan says:

    Oh that is really pretty!! I love the fabrics you picked!!!

  3. rondabeyer says:

    Very bright, can’t wait to see it done. Happy Holidays Freda….

  4. Gayle says:

    Boy, that is gonna be a happy quilt! I like it!

    Have a great Christmas Freda….. and enjoy your family.

    Gayle

  5. runandsewquilts says:

    I love the colors you have chosen!
    AnnMarie

  6. KK says:

    I like the original colorway but I really really like your choices! Great job – and keep up the stashbusting!

  7. Since I’m a fan of a colorful pallet, I really like your oriental fabric choices! It’s going to be beautiful!

  8. myolivebranch says:

    i like both fabric combinations. your fabrics however, would look just lovely hanging in my clubhouse (just in case you needed a place to hang your quilt when it’s done!) kayp

  9. freda1951 says:

    Hey Kay, I will keep that in mind. Thanks guys for your comments.

Leave a Reply

