Half Square Triangle How To

O.K., I’m sure everyone knows how to do HST. Several months ago I saw a quilt on an episode of King of Queens. It was made of all HST blocks. I drafted my own pattern and decided to make the quilt. Since I will need 576 HST blocks I thought I would share how I do them.

My fabrics are Batiks, Fossil Ferns and a couple pieces of Willowberries.

taylor-009.jpg

A few blocks done.

taylor-008.jpg

First step; Start with 2-4″ blocks. Dark on bottom, light on top.Draw a line across block with Quick Quarter Ruler.

taylor-011.jpg

Stitch scant 1/4 inch each side of line.

taylor-013.jpg

Cut in to.

taylor-001.jpg

Press with dark triangle on top. Open and press seam toward dark Triangle

taylor-002.jpg

I use a 3 1/2 inch Omnigrid ruler to square my blocks up

taylor-003.jpg

Two finished Half Square Triangle Blocks.

taylor-004.jpg

I take 9 of these blocks and sew 3 rows of three, then sew the 3 rows together. I then square the block up to 9 1/2 inches.

Hope you enjoyed my little tutorial. I guess I have just made too many HST and had to see how I did it. Hope everyone has a great day.

3 Responses to Half Square Triangle How To

  1. Jan says:

    Oh that’s going to be a beautiful quilt!!!! Can’t wait to see it done!!! 😀

  2. carlafibers says:

    Don’t you just LOVE that tool?? Can’t wait to see this quilt when it is finished, too!

  3. freda1951 says:

    I don’t know why Sharon.

Leave a Reply

