Surgical Incision

I don’t want to gross anyone out, just share what happened. You know I got ran over by my truck. I had a traumatic rotator cuff tear of the suprastinatus tendon. I had surgery on April 30 to repair the tendon. I am also going to physical therapy 3 times a week for at least 6 weeks. The therapist says I am doing real good. I believe him even though it feels like torture to me. The attached photo shows my lovely incision.

8 Responses to Surgical Incision

  1. Christine Olson says:

    Ew, ew, eeeewwww! And OUCH! Holy great hall of grossness, Batgirl! That looks painful! Hope you recover quickly.

    Keeping you in my thoughts…

  2. TeresaL says:

    Freda, I don’t know what planet I’ve been living on but I did not realize you had surgery already. I don’t know how I missed that…..I thought you had just gone to see the surgeon, not that you had your surgery. I don’t find the incision at all gross (A tiny part of my last job was to remove those staples from incisions).

    I hope you are in less pain and that PT will help you get your full range of motion back. I’m so sorry (and a bit embarrassed) that I didn’t realize you already had your surgery. I’m going to have to go back and re-read your entries, looking for where I missed that and I probably even left a comment on the post where you shared about the surgery. Color me feeling stupid (stupider? LOL than normal?). 😉

  3. freda1951 says:

    Thanks everyone. I really am doing better. I don’t have to take the pain meds as much. I still can’t sleep in my bed, I have to sleep in the recliner. Lynn and Jazzy sleep on the couch because Lynn is afraid I might need something during the night. I still can’t dress myself so you know Lynn likes that job. lol I am getting pretty good at one handed jobs. I’m thinking about seeing if I can sew on my DSM with one hand. I have a lap quilt all ready cut out. Will let you know how that goes.
    Teresa please don’t feel bad. I think the stars must be out of alignment because yesterday my DIL called and wished me a happy mothers day. When she asked if I was having a good one I said, Angie, it isn’t mothers day she really thought it was, then she asked if I knew when I was having surgery. Again there was silence from me. She didn’t remember I had all ready had it. Something strange going on. I do wish you were here to take these staples out but I’m told I have to keep them another week.
    I hope everyone has a great day.

  4. Jan says:

    Ouch!!! Thank goodness for those recliners!!! They are life savers now aren’t they! I think you are healing and progressing faster than the cabana boy. They won’t even address PT until next Monday with him. Hang in there!!!

  5. freda1951 says:

    Hey Jan, I had surgery on Wednesday and my PT was started on Friday. Doctors don’t think alike about things like that. I’m glad they started early even though it feels like torture. I sure hope CB does good with his.

  6. Gayle says:

    Ow
    OWW
    OOWWWW!

    Glad youre on the mend Freda. And was happy to see your pretty enclosed recovery porch where you can relax while healing. PT may be torture, but it is so worth it.

    Gayle

  7. carlafibers says:

    Big OUCH!! Oh Freda, you have sure been through the wringer!! I still think the car company should accept liability. grrr on them!

Leave a Reply

