A Simple Pleasure Sunday

Earlier in the week Gina posted on her blog about simple pleasures. I have enjoyed many of my simple pleasures today. After I got the house “good enough” I decided to get in some porch time today. It is a gorgeous, cool sunny day here today and we had 4 uninterrupted hours on it. Lynn was on the sofa with Jazzy and me in my chair. I read the new Reader’s Digest, listened to the tinkling of the wind chimes, listened to the wind blow, closed my eyes and just rocked and relaxed, listened to the neighbors dog barking, listened and watched the birds, listened to a boat on the lake and enjoyed the smell of just mowed grass.

I also got in some retail therapy today. I ordered fabric for a quilt I have running through my head. Can you say “chocolate and turquoise?” I think I know what pattern I will be making. I will post pix of the fabric when it comes in.

I am going to have one of our simple pleasures for supper tonight. Cabbage and smoked sausage and cheese and onion cornbread muffins. Yuummmmyy!

I hope all of you have enjoyed some simple pleasures today. Now I am going to go watch some of the race. Another simple pleasure.

6 Responses to A Simple Pleasure Sunday

  1. TeresaL says:

    Your description of your porch time sounds wonderfully inviting and calming. I hope your shoulder is healing well.

  2. AllenQuilts says:

    Can’t wait to see those fabrics, and pass me a serving of that supper, please!

  3. Jan says:

    I’m glad you had a good day!!! Those colors sound wonderful! Can’t wait to see the quilt!! Enjoy the rest of your day… and week… month… year 😉

  4. freda1951 says:

    Thanks everyone. Teresa my shoulder is healing. It is a slow process but I am making progress. Randi, I added mashed potatoes, deviled eggs and Strawberry Cheesecake frozen yogurt for dessert. Wish you had been close enough to share because it sure was good. Thanks Jan, I will post some pix of the fabric when it comes in. Can you guess that I am thinking a Eleanor Burns quilt? Hmmmmmmm

  5. lindasteller says:

    Oh wow – you day of simple pleasures was great! I could imagine them all and enjoy them right along with you.

  6. freda1951 says:

    Thanks Linda. Wish you had been here to share. Have a great 4th.

Leave a Reply

