Anniversary Present

Our anniversary won’t actually be until August 11. That is also my birthday. I have been wanting a Hoosier cabinet for several years but they are expensive. My hubby surprised me by taking me shopping to pick one out. When I bought it I really didn’t like the gold color on it but liked the style so I decided I would paint it. After we got it home it looks great in here so I’m not painting it. At least not right now. It is a Hoosier Cabinet made in 1943.

My fabric that I ordered a few days ago came in and I love, love, love it. The colors look so good together. They look a little dark in the pic.

I have chosen my pattern. The Cornerstones quilt by Eleanor Burns. I think it will showcase the beautiful colors. What do you think?

Yesterday when I went to the doctor I had to go to Batesville, Ar. That is also where Marshall Dry Goods is so I couldn’t resist a trip to their store. Here is my fabric I purchased. I am planning on making some new curtains and valances out of the check and off white. I know the check probably looks wild to you but I love it and it will look great in my house. The brown is for the backing of the cornerstones quilt, I think. We also went by the music store and got some things Lynn needed for his hobby. Playing the guitar. I’m so happy he has that. It helps him get through some rough days.

Tommorrow I have the needle biopsy done on my thyroid. I have really been dreading that since I saw the pix of Randi after she had it done. I’m strong though and will get through it, especially after all my friends have said such good thoughts and prayers for me.

I hope everyone has a great weekend.

10 Responses to Anniversary Present

  1. Jan says:

    I don’t know which one I like better… the way cool cabinet or the great fabric!! I like that curtain fabric!! I’m glad you had a good day! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers!

  2. AllenQuilts says:

    Love the cabinet! Love the fabric and it will look great in that pattern!

  3. beccaak says:

    Happy early anniversary.Love the cabinet and the fabrics.

  4. TeresaL says:

    Freda, I love your cabinet and am eager to see your projects done with your new fabrics.

    I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow. Hoping the biopsy will not be difficult on you.

  5. freda1951 says:

    Thanks everyone. I wish all of you could see the real colors of the fabric. They are gorgeous. I am so proud of my cabinet. I love it. I know I sound like a sissy on that biopsy but since Randi posted a pic of here black and blue neck I have thought of it. I know I will be fine but I’m still a little nervous.

  6. myolivebranch says:

    freda your cabinet is wonderful! lucky girl you are. good luck on your biopsy.

  7. beccaak says:

    Thinking about you today.sending big gental hugs(((((((((((()))))))))))))

  8. freda1951 says:

    I made it through guys. It is achy, swollen and is going to be lovely colors afterwhile but I am fine. Thanks for holding my hand.

  9. TeresaL says:

    Glad to hear that you are okay.

  10. carlafibers says:

    Glad you made it through! Love your Hoosier btw!

Leave a Reply

