I am so Blessed

We went to Alabama on vacation to see Lynn’s sister. One of my sister in laws neighbor is a 91 year old sweetheart named Ms Anita. She crocheted me this afgan.

 

I was so surprised because I had never met her. I told her she didn’t know me and she said “but I know Mary”. She was the sweetest lady. I couldn’t get over that. A couple days later a friend of Mary’s came over and gave us this quilt.

 

I had met her once about ten years ago but she remembered us. She told me that she didn’t make “pretty” quilts but quilts to use. I told her the ninepatch block is my favorite quilt block and that I loved it. I felt so blessed while we were there to have met these lovely people. The quilt is all hand quilted.

Earlier today we went to a car show not far from our house to visit with some friends. We got to stay about 45 minutes but the heat got to Lynn and he got real dizzy and having trouble breathing. We came home and after he got to feeling better I sewed on my Cornerstones quilt.

 

I am making progress on it but I need to make a lot of progress because I already have it sold. My daughter in law wants it for her sister for Christmas. I will have it done by then.

I was supposed to work at the school for 3 days last week but ended up working 5. Thank Goodness for new Crocs! I hope it turns into a full time job because it is easier on my arm than upholstery. I still have lots of pain in it. Pain or not I still have 15 cushions to make next week. They may not all get done because Lynn and I both have doctors appointments next week. Me for my thyroid and a MRI of my right knee. I have arthritis in it but something the doctor didn’t like showed up in the xray so now I have to get the MRI. Lynn has a followup on his Colonoscopy.

Well, I guess that’s all I have for this week. I hope everyone has a great weekend.

7 Responses to I am so Blessed

  1. AllenQuilts says:

    Wow! What great gifts you got! Love the fabrics in your cornerstones quilt…that is going to be pretty!

  2. freda1951 says:

    Thanks Randi. I was just stunned that these lovely ladies gave me these things. The turquoise and chocolate fabrics in the cornerstones quilt look so good together. The pix don’t do them justice.

  3. Jan says:

    Those are amazing gifts!! 😀 And I LOVE y our tuqoise and chocolate cornerstones quilt!!!

  4. myolivebranch says:

    wow freda. those are beautiful…both the quilt and the afgan. i bet everytime you look at those gifts you’ll feel special!

  5. freda1951 says:

    Thanks Jan and Kay and you are right Kay, I do feel special.

  6. beccaak says:

    Those are beautiful gifts.What a treasure. I love the materials you are doing your cornerstone block out of too. ((((hugs)))) I will be thinking about you both this week.

  7. freda1951 says:

    Thanks Becca. I love my online friends. They are always there for me whenever I need a little hug. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

