Actual Quilt Content

It seems like forever since I had quilt content but I guess it hasn’t been that long. This is a Twirling Leaves and Logs quilt that my DS commissioned me to do for his MIL for Christmas. I love the colors in it. When I made the center I managed to get some fullness in it but knew that I could quilt it out. However the longer I looked at it the less I liked it so I frogged it apart and started over. I practiced my Y seams that I haven’t done in forever and also remembered my friend, Jan, saying to starch all the triangles in another quilt so that all those biased edges wouldn’t stretch and it worked. I like it alot better.

I think I am going to quilt it with overall swirls except the center and I think I will do some smaller swirls and some outlining. I also think I will use Mother Goose Maxi Lock thread.

Over on MQR there was a post , What’s on Your Bed, by Tina Chamberlain. This is whats on  my bed. It is called Dancing Tulips and I made it in 1998. It has been washed so much it is as soft as butter. I love it.

Also,  I thought I would show you the Dogwood tree that is outside my studio window. It is just gorgeous this year.

Well, I guess that is all I have for now. I hope everyone has a great weekend. I hope to get started quilting on the Log Cabin quilt.

5 Responses to Actual Quilt Content

  1. Jan says:

    Freda!! They are all gorgeous!!!!! They are going to love that quilt! Glad the tip helped someone!! 😀 Love the center of that! And I don’t think I’ve ever seen that pattern for the tulip quilt. I LOVE it!!! The dogwood is amazing. I kill those off faster than you can blink your eye!!! Hope the quilting goes quick and your tension is perfect!!!!!!

  2. beccaak says:

    I just love this log cabin quilt. You have my mind racing as I have 3 to make. Your tulips are awesome too. That is my favorite flower of all time. First flower hubby ever gave to me. And your dogwood. wow. Beautiful.

  3. myolivebranch says:

    the log cabin quilt is awesome! and your dogwood tree is beyond wonderful. thanks for sharing!

  4. freda1951 says:

    Thanks guys. I hope to get the quilt on the machine today. Of course, I have to get up and get started first.

  5. carlafibers says:

    I love that log cabin quilt, freda!! I bet it came out terrific!

Leave a Reply

