Pix of the ice storm

I promised some pix of the ice storm and here they are. I do hope you can click on them and enlarge them.

ice-storm-2009-009   ice-storm-2009-008

The above pix show the tree that is on our house. Yep it is still there because no one has had time to come and tell us how much it will cost to get it off. You know it don’t really matter cause it has to come off the house. Someone is supposed to be here tomorrow.

ice-storm-2009-0011      ice-storm-2009-006      ice-storm-2009-0031

The first two from the left were taken looking out my front door. The one on the far right is the dogwood tree in front of my studio. Every limb is laying on the ground. All the ice melted off it Saturday and today all the limbs are back to normal. I am so happy as I love to watch that tree change through the seasons.

ice-storm-2009-004       ice-storm-2009-005

The last two were taken looking out my back door. See those two heavy power lines? Right after I took the picture they pulled two poles down and were on the ground. They didn’t take our power out though cause it was all ready off!!!

I hope you enjoyed the tour and I am so happy to be back online and have lights, telephone, tv, etc, but you get the idea.

I hope all of you have a great week.

10 Responses to Pix of the ice storm

  1. Gayle says:

    It’s miserable to be without electric. I’m so glad you are safe tho. I had wondered if you were affected by the storm. The same storm dumped another foot of snow on us, mixed with some ice. Luckily, we didnt have damage such as yours.

    Stay warm!
    Gayle

  2. freda1951 says:

    Thanks Gayle. I am very thankful our damage isn’t anymore than it is and that we now have power. Some people are still out.

  3. TeresaL says:

    Freda, I’m glad you are okay.

  4. Jan says:

    Holy smokes! I’m glad you are OK and the power is on!!

  5. Sharon Dixon says:

    Freda, I’m glad you’re okay. The pictures of the ice are beautiful….too bad it causes such damage.

  6. carlafibers says:

    Wow! Those pictures are impressive! I feel for you with the tree on the roof. I had a 60 foot tree fall on my former quilt studio once. How much damage to your roof?

  7. freda1951 says:

    Carla, the insurance adjuster hasn’t been here yet but we think the damage isn’t all that bad. The best we can tell is some shingles and about 12 feet of gutters. Our hope is that it can be got down without hitting the 12 foot windows or the fence or the neighbors house! Sharon it is beautiful but Goodness is it wrecking havoc. Thanks everyone for the support. We have neighbors and friends still out of power and it could be weeks before they get it back. We are some of the lucky ones.

  8. Becca says:

    Freda thank heavens you all are ok. I worried about you as I have a friend not too far away from you who just got power back today. Thank you for sharing the pics.(((((((hug))))))

  9. Christine Olson says:

    So glad to see you are safe and warm again. The pics are beautiful even though this stuff can damage so much.

    Don’t you love it when a favorite tree survives? I felt a tinge of sadness when I saw how many nice trees were damaged in our area during our December storm. So sad because it will take decades or a LOT of money to replace them.

    Hope you get an early spring!

  10. freda1951 says:

    Thanks everyone. We were very lucky as we have neighbors, like right next door and across the street, that are still out of power. The poles that carry the lines to our house didn’t break so therefore we got power back sooner. I hope they all have power soon.

Leave a Reply

