I have a design wall, I have a design wall

Yes, I am singing it. I have never been able to have a design wall because of the way my room is laid out. There is a 9 foot window across the front of the house, which is the north side, a twelve foot window on the east side behind my quilting machine, twelve feet of closets on the south side at the end of my quilting machine and a six-foot opening going into my studio. That leaves a two foot space that I have a table to hold some of my junk stuff, and six feet on the other side where my computer desk and printer stand is.

I believe it was somebody on MQR that gave me this idea. I am so sorry but I don’t remember who. If you recognise your  idea, please let me know.

These are my closet doors.

Here is my design wall.

Isn’t it awesome. Underneath the design wall is another set of closet doors exactly like in the first pix. All I did was to to put 6 small white paneling nails above the closet trim.  They blend in with the wall and you would have to look very close to see them. I bought a 60×120 inch table cloth at Walmart for $3.50 and a pack of binder clips for $1.50. You might can find the supplies cheaper but Walmart was where I was at. I did cut about 10 inches of the tablecloth off as it was a little long. When I need to use the closet door we just fold the tablecloth back. Luckily those doors aren’t used very often.

I love it and now I can do Judy Laquidara’s Design wall Monday. Now, what is on your design wall? I hope someone knows whos idea this is so they can get the credit.

It is snowy and cold here, all though, I know some of you have lots more snow and cold and wouldn’t you know the four wheel drive in my truck is making a noise? Go figure. I hope everyone stays warm and dry.

8 Responses to I have a design wall, I have a design wall

  1. shirley bruner says:

    great idea, Freda. sometimes we have to just use the space we have. makes you wonder why you didn’t think of it before, huh?

  2. freda1951 says:

    Yes it does Shirley. Whenever I saw what the lady used it was like a V8 moment.

  3. Kare in OH says:

    Don’t you just love the perspective you get from having your quilt on the wall versus having it on the floor or a table?

  4. Jan says:

    I use the table cloth, but I wouldn’t have thought about mounting over the closet doors. Fantastic! Go Freda!! Love that quilt too!

  5. freda1951 says:

    Karen, you are so right, the quilt looks totally different. Jan, I didn’t think of it, still don’t know where or who’s idea it was but I love.

  6. Kathy Wagner says:

    Welcome to design wall Mondays! What a great idea!

  7. freda1951 says:

    Thanks for whom ever idea it was. It makes a huge difference.

  8. marmor says:

    Great idea and I love the quilt

Leave a Reply

